A-24 CANADA YEAR BOOK

Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration

Head office Motherwell Building 1901 Victoria Avenue Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 0R5

Liaison office: Ottawa.

Alberta affairs office: Edmonton.

Manitoba affairs office: Winnipeg.

Geotechnical division: Saskatoon.

Regional engineering divisions: Calgary, Regina, Winnipeg.

District engineering offices: Lethbridge.

Project offices: Cutbank.

Senior soil conservationists: Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton.

Area soil conservationists: Lethbridge, Hanna, Peace River, Vegreville, Rosetown, Swift Current, Watrous, Weyburn, Brandon, Morden, Dauphin.

Area soil and water conservation offices: Hanna, Rosetown, Swift Current, Watrous, Weyburn, Brandon.

Local soil and water conservation offices: throughout the Prairie provinces.

Irrigation division: Consul, Eastend, Maple Creek, Rush Lake, Swift Current, Val Marie.

Demonstration farm: Outlook.

Tree nursery division: Indian Head.

Hydraulics laboratory: Regina.

Community pastures: throughout the Prairie provinces.

Bull stations: Maple Creek, McAuley.

Information: Regina (306) 780-5070 or 780-5071, or any office listed above.

The Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration provides ongoing programs and projects to conserve and develop the soil and water resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. These activities are designed to develop and promote improved systems of farm practice, tree culture, water supply and land use that will result in greater economic security for residents of the areas. PFRA is also responsible for the administration of the Agricultural Service Centres program for the development of water supply and sewage disposal systems in selected Prairie communities and the implementation aspects of the Canada-Manitoba and Canada-Saskatchewan Interim Subsidiary Agreements on Water for Regional Economic Expansion and Drought Proofing.

Minister responsible:

Minister of Agriculture

Privatization and Regulatory Affairs (Office of)

Heritage Place 155 Queen Street 6th Floor Ottawa, Ontario K1A 1J2 Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 957-4375.

The Office of Privatization and Regulatory Affairs has two main objectives; the divestiture of selected Crown corporations and the improved management of the regulatory process.

Minister responsible:

Minister responsible for Privatization and Regulatory Affairs

Public Service Commission

Head office L'Esplanade Laurier, West Tower 300 Laurier Avenue West Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0M7 Regional and district offices: Whitehorse, Yellow-

knife, Vancouver, Edmonton, Regina, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec (Sillery), Moncton, Halifax, Charlottetown, St. John's. Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 996-5010.

The Public Service Commission (PSC) is a politically independent agency accountable to Parliament for the administration of the Public Service Employment Act. Under the terms of this Act, the Commission must ensure that the merit principle, as determined by the Commission, is upheld in all public service staffing operations. The objective of the Commission is to assist in the maintenance of a competent public service by ensuring that the best qualified persons are recruited to or promoted within the public service, that qualified employees are deployed to meet operational requirements and that certain training services are provided on behalf of the Treasury Board. Minister responsible:

Secretary of State

Public Service Staff Relations Board

C.D. Howe Building West Tower, 6th Floor 240 Sparks Street PO Box 1525, Station B Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5V2 Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 990-1800.

The Board administers the Public Service Staff Relations Act, which governs collective bargaining,